16 Pangasinan towns on leptospirosis watch list

0 21

The Pangasinan Provincial Health Office (PHO) has placed sixteen towns and cities on the leptospirosis watch list with more flooding experienced in low lying towns during the rainy season.

According to the PHO, six people have died and 40 persons had leptospirosis from all over Pangasinan since January of this year.

The watch list includes the towns of Burgos, Bolinao, Mabini, Sual, Binmaley, Mangatarem, Bayambang, Sta. Barbara, San Jacinto, Mangaldan, Manaoag, , San Fabian, Alcala and Tayug.

Also included in the watch list are Alaminos City, San Carlos City, and Dagupan City that have high rates of leptospirosis cases every year.

PHO Chief Ana De Guzman said the best way to avoid getting leptospirosis is to refrain from wading in floodwaters.

Leptospirosis is caused by the leptospira bacteria whose incubation period is 7 to 10 days.

The mode of entry of the leptospira bacteria is through open wounds when in contact with flood waters, vegetation, moist soil contaminated with the urine of infected animals, especially rats.

Facebook Comments